468x60 Ads

How do I Delete all my Personal Information from my Samsung Galaxy S5?

By: Harold Hisona | Saturday, April 15, 2017

Advertisements

Your Samsung Galaxy S5 enables you to delete all of your personal information from the device (the memory card is not affected). This feature lets you ensure your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any personal information you need to your computer prior to using this feature.

How to delete all your personal information from your Samsung Galaxy S5

Here’s how to delete all of your personal information from your device:

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps  .
  2. Touch Settings  .
  3. Touch Backup and reset  .
  4. Touch Factory data reset.
  5. Read the information provided, and then touch Reset device.
  6. If you have a security lock enabled on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding.
  7. Touch Delete all to delete all information and downloaded applications.

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play™ Store.

How to remotely delete all personal information in your Galaxy S5

Google™ offers an application that lets you track your Android device's location, and it lets you reset the device's memory remotely. This application is available at google.com/android/devicemanager. Both Location services and the erase feature must be enabled and active on the device.

To turn on the remote factory reset on the device:

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps  .
  2. Touch Google Settings  .
  3. Touch Android Device Manager.
  4. Touch Allow remote lock and erase.
  5. Touch Activate.
  6. From your computer, sign in to the website using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.
  7. Click Accept to allow the location data to be sent to Google.
  8. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.
  9. Click Erase .
  10. Click Erase again to confirm deletion.

I hope these tutorials help.
 

Need Help?

There are three easy ways to get help:
1. email me at harold@droidista.com
2. join the Smartphone Support community where I often hang out
3. talk to me through the chat widget at the lower-right corner of this page or by visiting this page.


Follow Droidista

Advertisements

Scroll to Top